[Recipe] Seasoned Tofu Pockets / Yubu Chobap / 유부초밥

 

Hi everyone 🙂

I’ve brought with me a very easy recipe: yubu chobap.

Yubu chobap (유부초밥) is simply rice stuffed in seasoned tofu pockets.
“Yubu” means soybean curd, “cho” means vinegar and “bap” means rice in Korean.
Inari sushi is the Japanese name for the dish.

Yubu chobap is ideal for when you’re packing lunch.
It’s much easier than kimbap.

I used a ready-made kit with the seasoned tofu pockets and sauce so it was extra easy for me 🙂
The kits can be bought at Korean grocery stores such as H Mart and Galleria.
They can also be found at Japanese and Asian food stores.

 

 

IMG_2710

Ingredients:

– About 2-3 bowls of cooked rice (I made brown rice with red beans)
– Yubu chobap kit
– Disposable gloves (optional)

 

 

IMG_2711

IMG_2716

The yubu chobap kit that I used had two packets of the three items: seasoned tofu pockets, a vinegar-based sauce and dried vegetables.

I used one pack of each (one pack makes 14 yubu chobap–about 2 servings).

 

 

IMG_2736

The cooking directions can be found on the back of the package.

I just used the kit to make the yubu chobap, but like Step 2 says, I often add fresh ingredients.

You can also make fried rice and stuff that in the tofu pockets.

 

 

IMG_2712

Disposal gloves are optional, but I recommend that you use them.

 

 

IMG_2713

Place the 2~3 bowls of cooked rice in a large bowl.

 

 

IMG_2717

Add the vinegar-based sauce to the rice and mix thoroughly.

You can use your hand (with gloves on) or a large spoon.

It’s best if you add little by little at a time.

 

 

IMG_2719

The dried vegetable packet contains sesame seeds, black sesame seeds, carrot and green onions.

 

 

IMG_2723

IMG_2727

Sprinkle it on the rice and mix well.

 

 

IMG_2728

Cut open the packet of seasoned tofu pockets and drain the extra sauce.

I also squeeze the packet slightly to remove the excess sauce.

 

 

IMG_2729

Place the tofu pockets in a small bowl.

Also have a large plate ready for the finished product 🙂

 

 

IMG_2732

Split the “yubu” so you can stuff the rice.

Be careful when you’re doing this because they rip easily.

 

 

IMG_2734

Fill the pocket with a rice ball.

Too much rice can rip the pocket, so fill it with a small rice ball first and add more rice in bits until you get the hang of it.

 

 

IMG_2739

IMG_2740

Done!

This took me about 10-15 minutes.

The hardest part was making it and taking the photos at the same time 😛

It’s very easy so you should try it at home!

 

 

2 thoughts on “[Recipe] Seasoned Tofu Pockets / Yubu Chobap / 유부초밥

  1. I know this post is several years old, but I want to say thank you! I don’t know Korean, but love inarizushi, so I picked a kit up at H-mart. Mine didn’t have any instructions at all, so this helped a lot! Thank you!

Leave a comment